Whoa Whoa! Two back-to-back strong genre films I watched and both of them remakes! Now that’s a start(other one is The Crazies). So, I won’t lie. I thought this would suck, and of course, not to mention a couple of people were bitching it’s not good. I really gotta stop listening to people. I started watching it with the least expectation possible and ended up loving it.

https://i0.wp.com/www.iwatchstuff.com/2009/02/10/last-house-on-left-poster.jpg

Director: Dennis Iliadis.

Cast: Tony Goldwyn, Monica Potter, Garret Dillahunt, Aaron Paul, Spencer Treat Clark, Riki Lindhome, Martha MacIsaac, Sara Paxton.

Synopsis: After kidnapping and brutally assaulting two young women, a gang led by a prison escapee unknowingly finds refuge at a vacation home belonging the parents of one of the victims — a mother and father who devise an increasingly gruesome series of revenge tactics.

The major turn-on for me was how disturbing the film was(okay so I never saw the original, I will though). From the point the situation in the film turned to total shit, the real deal began. There’s a near 45 minutes ‘holy-shit’ kinda disturbing scene that creates the base of the flick and from then on the film is either awkward(in a good way) or just fun. And fuck yeah I love me some good revenge!

“The characters of the movie from here on, were basically fucked!”

I never saw or at least noticed Tony Goldwyn before, but here he does a wonderful job as the doctor/mediocre good dad(lol that sounded awful, but that’s the best I could do). He showed some real good chops throughout the film and not for once did I think it was forced. The other actors did pretty good so it’s safe to say the acting was strong.

“Strong-ass performance.”

There are some horror films I love but have logic issues with, for example, The Collector(how the fuck did he manage all those traps!?) or A Nightmare On Elm Street original(you telling me the parents went nazi on a janitor’s ass just like that!?). So anyways, the build up of this remake was really strong and I could understand why, what was going on. Not for once did I feel like, “no that won’t happen in real life”, and I’m dragging ‘real life’ here because it is just a flat-out revenge flick.

Yes, I loved the fact that the characters in the flick made some smart moves and instead of running around like an idiot, they did effective stuff that made the film really fun to watch. One of the death scenes was wicked in a cool, gory and way frigging disturbing way(lol). Oh and some of the random stuff is used effectively(like the girl’s swimming talent).

Gore & Violence

The Last House On The Left remake is more on violence than gore. But still, we get some badass gore(hell yeah I cheered when the head exploded!). And mind you, it’s really really disturbing(images and a rape scene).

“The same guy from the first image. Lol, yes he suffered the most.”

Overall

This is a movie, I am really happy with, with no real complains, not even nit-pickings. I just thought it did everything pretty effectively OR, maybe I wasn’t expecting anything so thoroughly enjoyed what I got. Fuck that, it’s a great film with an awesome [climax(oh yeah!)]. Just go rent it if you haven’t seen it already thinking it will suck. For me, a 9 out of 10.

“Peaceful much!….Eh!?